Top Ten Tuesday

My reading is going quite slow these days. I find Tess of the d’Urbervilles really hard. It’s not that it’s a heavy book, it just doesn’t really inspire me to read, and I hate that. But at least now I can enjoy this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

f574d-toptentuesday

The topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Revisit a topic you did years ago or one you never got to do back then.


Since I only recently started this meme I felt free to pick whatever topic I want, and after a lot of overthinking, I decided to go for:

Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf

I do this too often: buy books that I plan to read as soon as possible, but they just end up being saved in my book shelf for no good reason.

  1. My Dickens collection. I have a habit of obsessing over one particular writer and then buy EVERYTHING that writer has ever written with a great plan to read EVERYTHING. But I end up reading a couple of them, then get in the mood for something different and forget all about my wish to read EVERYTHING. I’ve done this with several authors, but Dickens was the only one ending up filling a whole shelf. (The photo does not even include all my Dickens books, just the ones from Wordsworth Classics.)FullSizeRender
  2. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset. This is a must-read among Norwegian books and I’ve bought it at a flee marked – twice, actually, as I didn’t remember the second time that I already owned it. I hope I will read it some time, but I have my doubts it will be in the near future.
  3. The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky. I love Dostoyevsky, especially Crime and Punishment. I’ve also read The Idiot, and I bought The Brothers Karamazov planning on reading it right away. That didn’t happen. It stands nearly untouched in my book shelf.
  4. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami. I love Murakami’s writing, he is really something else. So when I’ve read a lot of classics and I’m in the mood for something very different, I often pick a Murakami book. I have heard the The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is one of his best books, so of course I bought it. But sadly, it is still on my TBR list.rtr
  5. Little Women by Louise May Alcott. Why have I not read this? I have no good answer. I should read it. I will read it.
  6. Dead Souls by Nicolai Gogol. This is also a book that is right up my alley, but I just haven’t gotten to it yet. It does appeal a lot to me, so perhaps I will read it soon.
  7. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf. I did the same «mistake» with Virginia Woolf as I did with Dickens, though not by far as bad. My Virginia Woolf collection consists of under 10 books, but – okay, this is bad – I haven’t read any of them! Why? I have no idea. To the Lighthouse is a book I have looked at many times and considered reading, but I’ve always ended up with something else.gg
  8. Dracula by Bram Stoker. I bought this not long ago together with a lot of other classics. But it was mainly Dracula I wanted to read. So why is it still standing in my shelf unread? Well, as I wrote in my July Summary, I somehow think Dracula is better suited for reading during autumn. So I will read it later this year, when it’s dark and spooky outside.
  9. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. Many years ago I found three of John Irving’s books in a book store. I didn’t know much about him or his books, but I bought them mainly because the covers were so beautiful. The three books were The World According to Garp, The Hotel New Hampshire and A Prayer for Owen Meany. Of these three it was always the latter that appealed to me the most, I don’t know why. I believe I read something about it some time and wanted to read it because of that. Still, I never did. I read Garp a couple of months ago though, mainly because my boyfriend recommended it, but poor Owen Meany is still not read.
  10. Sophie’s Choice by William Styron. I actually started reading this once and for some reason I stopped. I don’t know why. I really want to (re-)read this some time, though.fgh
12 kommentarer om “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Diana sier:

    Great post! I also decided to the same topic for mine because I have an overflowing bookshelf full of unread books:-) I read Little Women when I was really young but I still remember Jo.Its a good read so I hope that you will get a chance to read it soon.

    Likt av 1 person

    • Julianne sier:

      So cool that you’ll do the same topic! Can’t wait to read what books you’ve been storing forever ;) I think I will read Little Women soon, actually, especially now after you’ve talked it up.

      Liker

  2. _giovannard sier:

    My first and only John Irving book was The Hotel New Hampshire. I LOVED it! The movie is Blah. It’s a little too campy.
    I’ve been wanting to read A Prayer For Owen Meany, for YEARS, but I still haven’t picked it up. It’s a great movie if you haven’t watched it! :D Great Top Ten!
    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    Liker

  3. → Maggie ← (@thenovelorange) sier:

    I want to read a bunch of your listed books, especially Dracula and Sophie’s Choice! I also have them sitting on my shelf! Little Women is such a great read; I hope you can get to it soon! I tried to read Dickens’ Great Expectations and had a tough time with it, but I still can’t help but want to read the rest of his works! Happy reading! :D

    Liker

    • Julianne sier:

      Thank you! I guess I should read Little Women very soon, as everyone here recommends it :) I haven’t read Great Expectations, but I’ve read Oliver Twist and David Copperfield and I can recommend them both, especially Oliver Twist, which is one of my ultimate favorites – and actually quite easy to read.

      Liker

  4. Tilbaketråkk: Top Ten Tuesday

Leave me a comment <3

