Tess of the d’Urbervilles

FullSizeRender

Av Thomas Hardy. Herregud, som jeg strevde med denne boken! I begynnelsen likte jeg den veldig godt, men alt gikk så sent og det var beskrivelser av hver eneste person, bygning, skog og hver minste j**** blomst, så jeg mistet rett og slett interessen. Men for all del, dette er en klassiker for en grunn: det er en god bok. Den ble bare litt for langtekkelig for min del. Som om historien like gjerne kunne blitt fortalt på halvparten så mange sider. Og karakterene! Jeg likte jo ingen av de, hvor ofte skjer egentlig det? Tess er en jentunge uten ryggrad som aldri klarer å ta standpunkt til noe, og kjæresten hennes er jo faktisk en drittsekk. Huff, dette høres jo fælt ut. Det er nok bare det at jeg nettopp leste den ut og jeg er så glad for at jeg nå kan starte på en ny bok. Jeg gir stakkars Tess 3/6 hjerter.

By Thomas Hardy. My God, how I struggled with this book! At first I was very into it, but everything went so slow and it went on and on and on with describing every person, building, forrest and f***ing flower, that I just lost interest in it. By all means, this is a classic for a reason: it is a good book, I won’t deny that. For me it was just way too tedious. Like the story could have been told in half the number of pages. And the characters! I didn’t like any of them, how often does that happen? Tess is just a spineless girl that never seem to make up her mind, and her lover is an asshole. Well, this sounds bad. It’s just that I just finished it and I am so happy that I can start on a new book. I will give poor Tess 3/6 hearts. 

♥♥♥♥♥♥

3 kommentarer om “Tess of the d’Urbervilles

  1. Diana sier:

    I read both versions of this review yeah I can read Norwegian:-)Sounds like a tedious read.I don’t like books that are over detailed especially on mundane stuff that don’t add anything to the narrative.Sounds like a tough review.nice,honest review!

    Liker

    • Julianne sier:

      Thanks. It was written in an emotional state after just finishing it, haha, that’s why it’s so agressive. But I guess, those are the best reviews, written in the heat of the moment ;) But yeah, over detailed books are not my thing either.

      Liker

  2. Tilbaketråkk: August Summary

Leave me a comment <3

