August Summary

August went by too quick. After a slow summer, things are getting more and more hectic at work, so there’s less time to sneak in some reading between my to-do’s. I also started up my Italian class, so I have even less spare time.

aug

Like I did in July, I only read four books in August. It’s an embarrassing low number, but that’s all I managed.

augustsum

I started the month with Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. My God, how I struggled with that book! I found it really tedious and I was so happy when I finished it. I believe my review of Tess is the most honest review I’ve ever written, as I was so emotional and actually a little irritated after reading it.

After Tess I needed something easier and also I needed to read something in Norwegian. So I read Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones, translated into Norwegian, of course, as I do not read Spanish. It was exactly the type of book I wanted to read at that time and I really enjoyed it. The story is just amazing, though (as usual) I found the translation quite bad.

Then there was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. And what a lovely book that was! It’s really a feel-good book, perhaps a little too much feel-good for my taste. As I wrote in my review: I had expected a sad story where someone died or something, so I was kind of disappointed.

Last I read Butcher’s Crossing by John Williams. A great story, with a lot of nice depictions and not much dialogue. A lot like Stoner, but I liked Stoner waaay better that Butcher’s Crossing. Still, I ended up giving it 5 hearts and I would recommend it.


FullSizeRender

Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

How I struggled with this book! At first I was very into it, but everything went so slow and it went on and on describing every person, building, forrest and f***ing flower, that I just lost interest in it. By all means, this is a classic for a reason: it is a good book, I won’t deny that. For me it was just way too tedious. Like the story could have been told in half the number of pages. 


Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones

FullSizeRender

This isn´t the type of book I would normally go for (popular bestsellers), but I felt I had to read it since he had recommended it. And I ended up being pleasantly surprised. A lovely story with characters that you just end up falling in love with. The historical aspect made the book even better; wars that happened, kings that ruled, brutal rules that were enforced and some characters that actually lived. I would recommend this book for those of you who would like an easy but really good historical novel.


LWLittle Women by Louise May Alcott

I really enjoyed this book. A truly lovely story about four sisters and their challenges. I was easy to read and well written and I can see why children in USA is told to read this in school. It’s very preachy, almost too much. In my opinion this book was a little too much feel good. I had expected a sad story where someone died or something, but it ended up being a happily-ever-after-book. This didn’t exactly make the book any less good, it just wasn’t what I had expected. 


Butcher’s Crossing by John WilliamsIMG_6061

Butcher’s Crossing is just as simply written as Stoner, but it has a tiny bit more depictions and a little more action. Like Stoner, not a lot happens, but it doesn’t have to. I did (as usual) struggle with the translation. A lot of the book almost seemed like it was translated with Google Translate or something. Naturally this ruined the good flow of the book. But all in all, I liked this book very much, even though it can never measure up to Stoner (which I loved!)


What about September?

September is going to be Norwegian Literature Month for me. I have a lot of Norwegian books laying around and I thought that I would dedicate one month to some of the amazing writers of my country. I have picked some of the books I want to read and put them on September’s TBR list. Don’t know if I am going to stick with it, but it’s good to have some kind of plan anyway.

div

I will post more about my Norwegian Literature Month tomorrow.

 

3 thoughts on “August Summary

Leave me a comment <3

