Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

f574d-toptentuesday

The topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Do a TV themed topic.


Not the best topic for me, as I rarely watch TV. Also, I think it would be weird to list my top ten favorite TV shows on a book blog. So, I had to make it as book related as possible and decided on Top Ten Book Characters I would love to see on the screen (TV or movie).

  1. Ambrose (The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss). A character I love to hate. I would love to see The Kingkiller Chronicle on the screen some time and Ambrose is the character I would most look forward to. I see him as a mix of Joffrey (Game of Thrones) and Draco Malfoy (Harry Potter).
  2. William Stoner (Stoner by John  Williams). When I read this book, all I could see was Adrien Brody’s sad face, so for me Adrien Brody is William Stoner. It would be fun to see this story on the screen to see how William Stoner was portrayed.
  3. Prabaker «Prabu» (Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts). Now, I know there are plans to make a Shantaram movie and I believe Johnny Depp is going to play the main character Lin. But since Shantaram is based on true events, I only see Lin with the appearance of the author, Gregory David Roberts. However, there was another character in the book that I really loved: Prabaker, or «Prabu». I really hope someone will make Shantaram a movie (or TV series for that matter), so Prabu will become «real».
  4. Aomame (1Q84 by Haruki Murakami). The coolest female character ever! It would be so amazing to see her portrayed in a cool Japanese TV series or something.
  5. The Saracen (I am Pilgrim by Terre Hayes). This book was so exciting!! I love books where we follow one character in each chapter, like in I am Pilgrim. It’s kind of weird that the I-person is all-knowing, that he is the one telling both his story and the Saracen’s story, but still I think the Saracen is a great antagonist and it would be fun to see a film or TV series where we get to know the villain this way.
  6. Olav (The Trilogy by Jon Fosse). Sometimes when I read a book I see it in my head as a movie. I did this with The Trilogy. It’s dark and tragic and sad and the characters are so well described.
  7. Nola Kellergan (The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker). The young girl that mysteriously disappears and being found dead years later. She herself is a mystery; innocent and naughty, a little girl and yet almost a woman. She has so many layers and I would love to see an amazing young actress portray her.
  8. Prince Myshkin (The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky). This poor man, you just got to love him. Has this ever been made into a movie? I don’t know, but it would surprise me if it hasn’t. Myshkin is a character you really remember, like a lot of the other characters of Dostoyevsky. He seems so simple and stupid, but he is actually really a really complex man. It would be most natural to make a Russian movie of this book, but in my head it’s American or Brittish, I don’t know why.
  9. Dorian Gray (The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde). Of course Dorian had to be on this list! I am quite sure he has been portrayed on the screen before, but I haven’t seen it. Dorian is amazing, he is in many ways open as a book but still such an enigma. Only a great actor would be able to portray him like he deserves.
  10. Marguerite (The Lady of the Camellias by Alexandre Dumas, fils). Again, I am sure this have been made into a movie at least once, and also both Moulin Rouge and Pretty Woman is based on this story. But as this is my ultimate favorite book, I had to have it on this list. Marguerite is such a wonderful character. I am almost afraid to find out if there actually is a movie and see it, because I’m afraid it would ruin her for me. Sounds weird, I know. But still, I can’t help thinking how fantastic it would be to see her on the screen (and not as Satine in Moulin Rouge). Okay, I need to do some googling to see if I can find a movie…
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Diana sier:

    I really need to read Shantaram soon before the movie. I haven’t read any of the other books on your list though I have heard about a couple of them. Great idea for the post!

    Lik

Leave me a comment <3

