Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

f574d-toptentuesday

The topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Books on my Fall TBR List.


As I am planning on continuing my Norwegian Literature Month also in October, I have some more Norwegian books I would like to read this fall.

  • Melancholia by Jon Fosse. I found this at a book market and bought it only because of a quote from a critic printed on the cover: «These two novels, Melancholia I and II, are one of the greatest reading experiences I have ever had». Also, I read another of Jon Fosse’s books earlier this year and I really liked it.
  • Den rettferdige by Helene Uri. I’ve read a couple of Uri’s books before, but that’s around 10 and 15 years ago. This one I have had in my shelf for some years, so I though it might be time to read it. I remember I really liked Uri’s writing, so I look forward to reading it.
  • The Alberte Trilogy by Cora Sandel. Cora Sandel is a Norwegian writer who I actually don’t know that much about, other than that I have heard of this trilogy, which was written in the 1920’s and 30’s.

I also have some books that is quite dark and I feel is quite suitable to read in the dark fall months.

  • The Berlin Noir Trilogy by Philip Kerr. I bought this at a market one month ago after having had it on my TBR since forever. Can’t wait to finally read it.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker. This is a true classic. I’ve had it on my shelf for some time, but I thought it would by best to read it when it’s dark and scary outside, so I guess perhaps November will be a good time.
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. I bought this among with a lot of other classics some months ago, and, like Dracula, I have been waiting for the perfect time to read it.

That’s six books. The last four are books that are on my TBR that I am really eager to read, so I hope I will find time for them this fall.

  • No Logo by Naomi Klein. I remember my sister read this years ago and recommended it to me. I haven’t thought much about it until I found it at a marked last month. She spoke so highly of it that I feel I should read it.
  • Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson. I read a review about this series last week and I just can’t get it out of my mind. I am not the biggest fantasy fan, but this one really appeals to me.
  • My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. I’ve been wanting to read this series for some time now, and when I found the first and second book quite cheap last month I just had to buy it. I really believe these are my sort of books.
  • The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante. This is book No. 2 in the Ferrante series. If I like No. 1 I don’t see why I shouldn’t read No. 2 also.

9285742 6518707 2141012 236814 17245

420031 647 17564519 19317918 19317949

12 kommentarer om “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Diana sier:

    All the best with the challenge and enjoy your books this Fall. I have never heard of any of these books but I do hope they will be great reads for you:-)

    Liker

  2. Maggie sier:

    I’ve GOT to read Dracula soon! I read Heart of Darkness in high school and really enjoyed it, even though it can be a tough read! Happy Tuesday and happy reading! :D

    Liker

  3. tea, books and gilmore girls sier:

    Spennende liste! Jeg har også vage planer om å lese Elena Ferrante sin Napoli-serie. Leste Troubling Love for noen måneder siden og likte den, så satser på at bøkene om Napoli er fine også! Ellers har jeg vel kun lest noe av Jon Fosse, og likte det sånn helt greit.

    Liker

    • Julianne sier:

      Jeg har ikke lest noe av Elena Ferrante før, så er veldig spent. Av Jon Fosse har jeg kult lest Trilogien og den likte jeg veldig godt, så satser på at Melancholia også faller i smak. Takk for kommentar :)

      Liker

Leave me a comment <3

